Tendulkar to lead West Zone in Duleep Trophy

Published: Thursday, October 6, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Sachin Tendulkar has been named Captain for the West Zone team for the Duleep Trophy Tournament against South Zone to be played at Baroda from October 20-23.

Tendulkar, who is set to return to competitive cricket during October 10-13 NKP Salve Challenger Trophy at Mohali, after fourth-month injury lay-off, has expressed desire to play some more domestic cricket, according to Mumbai Cricket Association sources.

Also named in the squad were pace bowlers Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan and Ajit Agarkar, all of whom are expected to be named in the Indian squad for One-day International against Sri Lanka, scheduled on October 25 at Nagpur.

Selectors are to name the first ODI squad on October 14 at Mohali.


Sachin Tendukar (Captain), Dhiraj Jadhav, Satyajit Parab, Weasim Jaffer, Neeraj Patel, Parthiv Patel (Wicket Keeper), Sairaj Bahutule (Vice Captain), Ramesh Powar, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Akash Christian, Vinit Indulkar, Jaydev Shah, Rakesh Patel.

Coach: Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Manager: Rajendra Shah.

Write Comments