Low-key affair for India at ICC yearly awards

Published: Wednesday, October 12, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:There were not many cheers for the Indians at the ICC Cricket Awards function here last night.

Dinesh Kaarthick, the lone Indian nominee in the individual award category, Emerging Player of the Year, as expected did not make the cut, the trophy being clinched by England's Kevin Pietersen.

Even in the two Team awards, there were only three Indians who could find place in the ICC One-day and Test team sides.

While Virender Sehwag and Anil Kumble (12th man) were picked in the Test Team of the Year, Rahul Dravid found a place in the ODI Team of the Year.

Interestingly, no Indian player managed to break into both the ODI and Test teams.

The muted India show, after the euphoria of the inaugural awards when Rahul Dravid bagged the grand double, ICC Player of the Year and Test Player of the Year, was a reflection of the team's indifferent showing during August 1, 2004 to July 31, 2005, the voting period for the awards.

Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Flintoff and Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq were included in both the ICC ODI and Test line-ups, with Jacques Kallis picked at No. 4 for the Test line-up and as 12th man for the ODI squad.

Sri Lanka's Marvan Atapattu was selected as ICC One-day captain, while Australia's Ricky Ponting was picked to lead the Test team.

England won the 'Spirit of Cricket' award, as voted by the umpires, match referees and captains of the 10 Test teams.

Simon Taufel of Australia won the ICC Umpire of the Year award for the second year in succession.

Test team: Virender Sehwag (India), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Ricky Ponting (Australia, captain), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Brian Lara (West Indies), Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Andrew Flintoff (England), Adam Gilchrist (Australia), Shane Warne (Australia), Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka), Glenn McGrath (Australia). 12th man: Anil Kumble (India).

ODI Team: Marvan Atapattu (Sri Lanka, captain), Adam Gilchrist (Australia), Rahul Dravid (India), Kevin Pietersen (England), Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Andrew Flintoff (England), Andrew Symonds (Australia), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Brett Lee (Australia), Naved-ul-Hasan (Pakistan), Glenn McGrath (Australia). 12th man: Jacques Kallis (South Africa).

Write Comments