Mahendra and Sharad Pawar file nominations

Published: Monday, November 28, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata:In a replay of last year's bitter electoral fight, BCCI president Ranbir Singh Mahendra and political heavyweight Sharad Pawar filed their nominations for the top Board post here today.

As per the new election guidelines set for tomorrow's elections at the 76th AGM of the BCCI, two sets of nomination papers were filed for Maratha strongman Pawar.

While one set of papers had Ajay Sirke of Maharashtra as proposer and Niranjan Shah of Saurashtra as seconder, Baroda's Chirayu Amin and Raj Singh Dungarpur of the Cricket Club of India proposed and seconded the other set.

Delhi's C K Khanna was the proposer, while Haryana's Arvind Chowdhary seconded Mahendra's nomination.

The two contestants had tried their luck last year also, with Mahendra emrging victorious 16-15 by virtue of the casting vote given by then president Jagmohan Dalmiya.

Write Comments