Hyderabad score 370, Andhra 50 for 1

Published: Saturday, December 3, 2005, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ananthapur:Ibarahim Khaleel hit an unbeaten 128 to lift Hyderabad to 370 in the first innings in the Elite Group 'B' Ranji Trophy match against Andhra, who came up with a strong reply closing the second day at 50 for 1in Ananthapur on Saturday.

Resuming at overnight score of 211 for 5, Khaleel added 52 runs for the sixth wicket with young Amol Shinde, who had a good measure of first class cricket in his 25-run essay.

Amol, after four hits to the fence, nicked to keeper MSK Prasad off a good Kalyankrishna delivery while Khaleel continued his onslaught with N P Singh and gathered some good runs adding 64 runs for the seventh wicket.

Khaleel's 128 was studded with 19 fours and N P Singh hit 32 quick runs, inclusive with five fours, as the team coasted to over 350.

The Andhra bowlers quickly dismissed the tailenders and the Hyderabad innings ended up at 370 with speedsters K Shahbuddin claiming 3 for 95 and Kalyankrishna 2 for 56; spinners M Suresh and skipper Venugopala Rao took two wickets apiece.

The Andhra innings started on an aggressive note, with openers MSK Prasad and T Suman going for big runs from the first over. Prasad (9) was dismissed by Pragjanan early but Suman and Shahbuddin kept the pressure on by picking runs as the rival skipper pressed five bowlers into service to bowl 23 overs at stumps.

Suman was aggressive and hit the speedsters all around, scoring an unbeaten 31, inclusive of one four and three sixes, while Shahbuddin was on eight when stumps were drawn.


Hyderabad (1st innings):

DS Manohar c Prasad b Sahabuddin 8

Abhinav Kumar lbw b Kalyankrishna 4

Anirudh Singh c Rayudu b Venugopal Rao 78

AS Yadav c Rayudu b Venugopal Rao 69

D Vinay Kumar lbw b Sahabuddin 4

I Khaleel not out 128

A Shinde c Prasad b Kalyankrishna 25

NP Singh c Prasad b Faiq 32

PIS Reddy lbw b Suresh 6

Kaushik Reddy c Venugopal Rao b Sahabuddin 5

P Ojha b Suresh 2

Extras: (lb 3, w 3, nb 3) 9

Total: (all out, 157.5 overs, 634 mins) 370

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-13, 3-158, 4-163, 5-173, 6-225, 7-289, 8-353, 9-358, 10-370.

Bowling: Sahabuddin 35-10-95-3 (3nb, 1w), Kalyankrishna 26-7-56-2 (1w), Varma 4-1-9-0, Venugopal Rao 20-6-46-2, Lakshman Kishore 32-12-52-0, Faiq 29-5-80-1, Suresh 8.5-0-20-2, Gnaneswara Rao 3-1-9-0

Andhra (1st innings):

TS Suman not out 31

MSK Prasad b Ojha 9

KS Sahabuddin not out 8

Extras: (lb 1, nb 1) 2

Total: (1 wicket, 22 overs) 50

Fall of wickets: 1-23

Bowling: Singh 7-3-7-0 (1nb), Kaushik Reddy 6-2-16-0, Ojha 5-2-17-1, Reddy 3-1-7-0, Shinde 1-0-2-0.

Write Comments