Ganguly, engaged in a single-handed battle to save the match for Bengal, struck a fine 88 before being foxed by the veteran spinner.
Kapoor, who seemed to trouble the left hander, chose the line of bowling knowing the former Indian captain's weakness in the area.
''I know he is strong on the offside. So, I kept a line outside the leg stump to him. Then there were a couple of appeals and he complained to the umpire that I was constantlybowling outside the off stump,'' Kapoor said after the match.
''I told him that it's for the umpire to decide whether I am bowling outside the leg stump. Why are you bothered?''
''I knew then that either he was gone (likely to be dismissed), or I was gone (likely to get a flogging from the batsman),'' a smiling Kapoor said, describing the entire episode as a friendly banter.
Ganguly then got a boundary with an inside edge as he charged out to Kapoor.
But Kapoor had the last laugh. In the very next ball, Ganguly again gave him the charge, but missed in trying to sweep, and Dinesh Karthik did a fine bit of stumping.
Ganguly seemed disappointed with the decision, though Kapoor and Karthik both claimed that it was a clean dismissal.
Ganguly himself played down the verbal duel. ''It was a minor thing. I have been playing with him since the under-15 level''.