England elect to bat against India in 1st Test

Published: Wednesday, March 1, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Nagpur:England captain Andrew Flintoff won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test against India at the VCA stadium here today.

In the injury-hit England squad, three players - Alastair Cook, Monty Panesar and Ian Blackwell will make their debut.

For India, S Sreesanth will be making his Test debut. Mohammad Kaif and Wasim Jaffer have also been included in the team.


India: Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Mohammad Kaif, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble and S Sreesanth, 12th man: Suresh Raina.

England: Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff (captain), Ian Blackwell, Geraint Jones, Matthew Hoggard, Steve Harmison, Monty Panesar and Paul Collingwood.

Write Comments