England call up ~~A~~ team players for ODIs

Published: Saturday, March 11, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London:England today called up four players from their 'A' team to replace the senior quartet of Michael Vaughan, Ashley Giles, Simon Jones and Marcus Trescothick in the ODI squad which will take on India in the series beginning on March 28 in Delhi.

The England selectors have included Gareth Batty, Sajid Mahmood, Owais Shah and Vikram Solanki in the 16-man squad, an ECB release said here.

Of the four, Owais Shah is already in India after he was called in to replace regular captain Vaughan in the Test squad.

Giles, Jones and Vaughan will continue their rehabilitation from injury here.

Marcus Trescothick's reasons for pull out from the tour are still unknown and will not be disclosed.

''While I'm naturally disappointed to be missing the tour of India, it is my intention to play cricket for Somerset this summer and also to make myself available for England selection for this summer's international programme,'' Giles was quoted as saying in the release.

Meanwhile, the replacements will arrive in Jaipur on March 21 to begin their preparations for the series with Kabir Ali, who is also an A team player currently in the Carribeans.

''While we are naturally disappointed to lose players from the original party, the four individuals we have chosen as replacements, have performed well in the West Indies with England 'A' and will all be looking forward to the challenge of playing in a One-Day series in India", England Chairman of Selectors David Graveney said.

''It's an excellent opportunity for each player concerned to press for a regular place in the One-Day side as we continue to build for next year's World Cup,'' he said.

England ODI Squad: Andrew Flintoff (captain), Kabir Ali, James Anderson, Gareth Batty, Ian Bell, Ian Blackwell, Paul Collingwood, Stephen Harmison, Geraint Jones, Sajid Mahmood, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Matthew Prior, Owais Shah, Vikram Solanki, Andrew Strauss.

Write Comments