Pakistan elect to field in second One-dayer

Published: Sunday, March 19, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo:Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat in the second One-day international here.

Mahela Jayawardene is leading Sri Lanka in the absence of captain Marvan Atapattu, who was ruled out of the series because of a back injury.

Middle-order batsman Chamara Kapugedera took Atapattu's place in the side. Sri Lanka also replaced seamer Dammika Prasad with Nuwan Kulasekara while Pakistan named an unchanged side.

The first match was abandoned on Friday due to rain while the third and final match will be held here on Wednesday.

The One-dayers will be followed by a two-Test series.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedera, Kumar Sangakkara, Russell Arnold, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul Haq (capt), Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar, Mohammad Asif.

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Tyronne Wijewardene (SRI), TV umpire: Peter Manuel (SRI)

Match Referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Write Comments