India elect to bat against England in sixth ODI

Published: Wednesday, April 12, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jamshedpur:India won the toss and elected to bat against England in the sixth ODI at the Keenan Stadium here today.

England made three changes to their side. Captain Andrew Flintoff sat out holding out the captain's baton to Andrew Strauss. Geriant Jones and Gareth Batty are also sitting out making way for Liam Plunkett, Sajid Mahmood and Ian Bell.

Rahul Dravid is being rested for this tie and Virender Sehwag will captain the side. V R V Singh will make his international debut in place of Rahul Dravid. Others left out of the side are Irfan Pathan, A Agarkar and Sreesanth. R P Singh, V Rao and Munaf Patel are being drafted in for them.


India: V Sehwag (Captain), Y Singh, Md Kaif, S Raina, M S Dhoni, H Singh, R Power, R P Singh, V Rao, M Patel, V R V Singh.

England: A Strauss (Captain), J Andersen, I Bell, I Blackwell, P Collingwood, M Hoggard, S Mahmood, K Pietersen, L Plunkett, M Prior, V Solanki.

Umpires: K Hariharan and Rudy Koertzen.

Write Comments