Sahara bags telecast rights for round-robin ties

Published: Tuesday, April 18, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:SaharaOne Media and Entertainment has bagged the worldwide telecast rights for the forthcoming six-naton BSNL EurAsia Cricket Series to be played at Abu Dhabi from April 22 to May 5.

The tournament which has got International Cricket Council's nod, would be sponsored by BSNL and organised by the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC) in accociation with the Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Trust.

Announcing the tournament details here today, SaharaOne Media CEO Shantonu Aditya said the teams have been divided into two groups with India 'A', Pakistan 'A' and Holland in one group and Sri Lanka 'A', UAE and Ireland in the other.

All the matches would be day-night and would be simultaneously telecast by SararaOne Television and Filmy. While, SaharaOne would take an hour's break in telecast between 2200 hrs to 2300 hrs, Filmy would continune uninterrupted telecast of the matches.

Speaking about the format of the matches, Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Trust's Sunil Dev informed that both the groups would play a round-robin league after which the team heading group 'A' along with the second and third placed teams of group 'B' would form another group which would be group 'C', while the leader of Group 'B' along with the second and third placed teams of Group 'A' would form group 'D'.

These teams would then play another round-robin league. The teams would be allowed to carry forward the points from the first round robin league and then the top two teams would clash in the final which would be held on May 5.

The points for the round robin matches would be -- six for a win with a bonus point, 5 for a win without the bonus point, 3 for a tie or no result, 1 for a loss without conceding a bonus point and 0 for a loss with conceding a bonus point.

In the case of more than two teams finishing with the same number of points then the top two teams to contest the final would be decided on the most number of wins, if still equal then the team with most number of wins over the other teams which are on the same number of points would be taken into account.

If still the teams were equal then the team with the most bonus points would decide the finalists and finally if all these still do not resolve the deadlock than the highest net run rate of the teams would be taken into account.

Mr Dev said that the winner of this tournament would be richer by USD 25,000, while the runner-up would get USD 15,000. Besides, each win in the league phase, would fetch a team USD 1,000, while the loser would get USD 500 dollars each.

Apart from this, the man of the match of every game would get USD 1,000, while the man of the series would be richer by USD 3000.

The best batsman, best bowler, best wicket keeper and best fielder of the tournament would get USD 500 each, while the batsman hitting the most number of sixes in the tournament would be richer by USD 750, while the batsman hitting the most fours would get USD 500 as prize money, Mr Dev said, adding that the cut off point to qualify for the prizes of most sixes and most fours is 12 sixes and 20 fours in the tournament.

Write Comments