Cricket Champions Trophy to be launched today

Published: Thursday, April 27, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:The ICC Champions Trophy to be played at four venues in the country in October will be launched formally here today.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sharad Pawar will sign the Host Agreement with ICC President Ehsan Mani to mark the launch of the Trophy.

Four venues where the matches will be played are Jaipur, Ahmedabad, CCI (Mumbai) and Mohali.

The match schedule for the 10-nation tournament will also be announced at the function.

The top ten sides in the LG ICC ODI Championship table from April 1 qualify for the Trophy.

The West Indies are the defending champions and England are the runners up.

This is the first time India is hosting the Trophy, which is next to World Cup in importance.

Write Comments