ICC meeting to consider venue for World Cups

Published: Friday, April 28, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai:The crucial ICC Board meeting to discuss the venue for the 2011 and 2015 World Cups will be held here on Sunday, but it is highly unlikely that a decision will be taken on the same day.

The Board will be asked to consider a new compliant submission from the four Asian Full Members, India, Pakistan, Srilanka and Bangladesh, and a joint application from Australia and New Zealand.

Dropping enough hints that the ICC may have to reconvene another meeting at a later date to sort out the issue, ICC Chief Excecutive Malcom Speed said, ''It may be that neither submission has sufficient support at the end of the meeting in which case the Board will have to reconvene at a later date. This has happened in the past, most notably during discussions regarding the hosting of the 1996 ICC Cricket World Cup, and is something we will deal with if required.'' Speed admitted that it would be a very difficult decision for the Board to make.

''We put in place some very strict compliance guidelines so a lot of work has gone into both of these submissions,'' he said, adding ''Both have government support and have indicated their ability to comply with strict ICC criteria regarding the number of venues, the quality of facilities and the exemption from tax.

''This leaves us in a very positive position where we have two strong options for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and there will doubtless be extensive discussion as to which submission will be successful.'' A decision of the ICC Board requires the support of the majority of Full and Associate Member representatives including at least seven of the 10 Full Members.

In case the Board reaches on a decision regarding the hosting of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and 2015, it will then consider the holding of a range of other events including the ICC Champions Trophy and a Twenty20 World Championship. However, it was announced that 2019 World Cup will be held in England.

For hosting the new-format eight-team ICC Champions Trophy in 2008, six countries, Bangladesh, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and West Indies, have made the bid.

Apart from making the bid to jointly host the 2011 World cup, India is also in the fray for hosting the first ICC Women's World Cup in 2009. Apart from India, three other countries, Australia, Malaysia and UAE have also submitted their bids.

The Board will also adopt The Twenty20 World Championship as an official part of the ICC Events Programme and the first edition of this event will be held next year.

However, this event would be conducted on the basis that invitations would be issued to members to participate but participation would be voluntary and not mandatory.

Seven countries are vying to host what nine-day Twenty20 event. These are England, Malaysia, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, UAE and West Indies.

The ICC Twenty20 World Championship in 2009 and thereafter would be mandatory for all Full Members to compete. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will host the ICC Twenty20 Championship in 2009.

The proposed formats for these major ICC events will account for approximately 175 days of cricket over nine years from 2007 to 2015 as opposed to the 186 days of ICC tournament cricket that were included in the shorter cycle from 2000 to 2007.

Other events to be considered include Division One of the ICC World Cricket League, the ICC World Cup Qualifier (formerly ICC Trophy) and the ICC U/19 Cricket World Cup.

Attendees at the meeting will be: President Ehsan Mani, Vice President Percy Sonn, Chief Executive Officer Malcolm Speed, full members Creagh O'Connor (Australia), Mohammad Ali Asghar (Bangladesh), David Morgan(England), IS Bindra (India, as an alternate for Sharad Pawar), Martin Snedden (New Zealand, as an alternate for Sir John Anderson), Shaharyar Khan (Pakistan), Jayantha Dharmadasa (Sri Lanka), Ray Mali(South Africa), Ken Gordon (West Indies), Peter Chingoka (Zimbabwe) and associate member representaives Stanley Perlman (Israel), Tunku Imran (Malaysia) Mazhar Khan (UAE).

Write Comments