Asians win the bid to host World Cup 2011

Published: Sunday, April 30, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai:The Asian bloc, comprising India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh beat a joint Australia-New Zealand bid by 10-3 margin as the ICC Executive Board today awarded the 2011 World Cup to the sub-continent.

The Asian bloc needed just seven votes to win the event and they eventually managed 10 out of the 13 votes.

This will be the third time since the inception of the tournament in 1975 that the World Cup will be staged in the sub-continent.

India and Pakistan jointly hosted the event in 1987 and Sri Lanka joined them as co-hosts of the 1996 edition.

On the other hand, Australia and New Zealand jointly organised the 1992 World Cup.

Write Comments