West Indies increase one day squad

Published: Tuesday, May 2, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

St johns:West Indies have increased their squad to 14 for the third and fourth limited-overs internationals against Zimbabwe on Saturday and Sunday at Guyana's Bourda Oval.

Left-handed opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon, who hails from Guyana, is the only complete newcomer of the three replacements brought into the squad.

Fast bowler Tino Best and left-arm chinaman bowler Dave Mohammed are the other players that have been added. All-rounder Dwayne Bravo and left-arm medium-fast bowler Ian Bradshaw are the players that wil make room from the 13 named for the first two matches.

West Indies captain Brian Lara had indicated last week when he was appointed to the position for the third time that he would like to see more players exposed ahead of the 2007 ICC World Cup in the West Indies.

The selections for the third and fourth ODIs seem to be in keeping with this policy. It affords Chattergoon his first crack at the international level, and earn Best and Mohammed recalls.

The home team will travel to the Guyana capital of Georgetown on Wednesday, leading the seven-match series 2-0.

West Indies completed back-to-back wins by five wickets and 98 runs against the visitors on Saturday and Sunday at the Antigua Recreation Ground.

The two sides will also contest the first Limited-overs International under lights in the Caribbean at St. Lucia's Beausejour Stadium on May 10 before the series ends on May 13 and 14 at Trinidad et Tobago's Queen's Park Oval with another double-header.

Before the two weekend matches in Georgetown however, Zimbabwe tackle the University of the West Indies Vice Chancellor's XI in a limited-overs practice match on Wednesday at the Jolly Beach Resort ground.

West Indies will spend Monday and Tuesday in the nets before winging their way to Guyana.


Brian Lara (capt), Tino Best, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Christopher Gayle, Dave Mohammed, Runako Morton, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.

Write Comments