Hinds to lead Jamaican squad against India

Published: Wednesday, May 10, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Montelgo Bay:Wavell Hinds will lead a strong 15-member Jamaican team, with eight Test players in the ranks, in the One-day match against the Rahul Dravid-led Team India at Jarrett Park on Tuesday.

India will be using the warm-up match to prepare for the opening two One-Day matches against the West Indies at Sabina Park later in the week.

Apart from Hinds, the team also includes players like Chris Gayle, Darren Powell and Marlon Samuels.

Announcing the squad here at the Montego Bay Cricket Club yesterday, Brian Breese, cricket operations officer for the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA), said this was the best possible squad but some players could be omitted if the West Indies Cricket Board wanted to use them in the ODI series.

''The West Indies team will be playing the Indians two days after the Montego Bay game so the West Indies Cricket Board could well ask one or two of the players named to sit out the game,'' he was quoted as saying by the Jamaica Observer.

''Nonetheless, it should be a very strong Jamaican team going up against the Indians,'' he added.

The Indian team will be welcomed with a function at the Montego Bay Yacht Club hosted by the Indian community.

After Xavier Marshall was suspended by his parish association, Andrew Richardson has been named as the replacement for him.

Mr Breese said players like fast bowler Dwight Washington were not considered as they were playing club cricket in the United States.

Jamaica Cricket Association squad: Wavell Hinds (captain), Chris Gayle, Donovan Pagon, Marlon Samuels, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Nikita Miller, Carlton Baugh (wicketkeeper), Jermaine Lawson, Tamar Lambert, Bevon Brown, Danza Hyatt, Andrew Richardson, Damion Ebanks and Donovan Sinclair.

Indian squad: Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, Mohammad Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Irfan Pathan, S Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Ramesh Powar, Munaf Patel and Venugopal Rao.

Write Comments