More battles looming for Australia and India

Published: Thursday, May 11, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Australia will play India in six series over the next five years under the International Cricket Council's Future Tours Program (FTP) up to 2012.

Under the ICC's newly-released playing schedule, the two nations will play each every year from 2007 to 2011, either in Tests or limited-overs matches.

The Australians will tour India each year from 2007 to 2010, with India coming down under in 2007 and 2011 for four Tests and the triangular One-day series.

Contests between the two cricket strong nations took off in 2001 after Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman and Rahul Dravid engineered India's improbable 2-1 home series victory triggered with the miracle comeback win in the second Calcutta Test.

In 2003-4 the Indians pushed Steve Waugh's Australians all the way to split a four-Test series 1-1 in Australia.

Australia downed India 2-1 in their last four-Test series in India in 2004.

Write Comments