Bermuda, Canada, Zimbabwe play tri-series

Published: Tuesday, May 16, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai:Bermuda and Canada gear up for next year's World Cup with a tri-series which gets underway today in Trinidad with Zimbabwe as the third team.

The matches will be Bermuda's first-ever ODIs, while it will be Canada's first outings at this level since 2003.

The matches are part of dramatic increase in the programme of ODIs for the six Associate Member countries that will participate in the next year's world cup according to an ICC release here.

Gus Logie, the former West Indies batsman, is the coach of the Bermuda squad.

Simon Taufel, the ICC umpire of the year, together with Roger Dill, will officiate the matches while Clive Lloyd, the former West Indies captain and a member of the Emirates Elite Panel of match referees, will oversee the tournament.

Tri-series schedule: May 16 - Canada v Zimbabwe May 17 - Bermuda v Canada May 18 - Bermuda v Zimbabwe May 20 - Final


Bermuda: Janeiro Tucker (captain), Irving Romaine (vice-captain), Lionel Cann, Hasan Durham, Treadwell Gibbons junior, Kevin Hurdle, Dwayne Leverock, Dean Minors (wicketkeeper), Daniel Morgan, Saleem Mukuddem, George O'Brien junior, Azeem Pitcher, Ryan Steede, Kwame Tucker.

Canada: John Davison (captain), George Codrington (vice-captain), Qaiser ali, Ashish Bagai, Geoff Barnett, Umar Bhatti, Desmond Chumney, Sunil Dhaniram, Haninder Dhillon, Stewart Heaney, Don Maxwell, Henry Osinde, Kevin Sandher, Sanjay Thuraisingam.

Zimbabwe: Terry Duffin (captain), Justice Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Charles Coventry, Keith Dabengwa, Ryan Higgins, Anthony Ireland, Blessing Mahwire, Keegan Meth, Tawanda Mupariwa, Piet Rinke, Vusi Sibanda, Gregory Strydom, Brendan Taylor (wicketkeeper), Prosper Utseya.

Write Comments