Proteas appoint Rhodes as coach for World Cup

Published: Sunday, May 21, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesberg:Bolstering their World Cup campaign, South Africa have appointed Jonty Rhodes as their specialist ODI coach and named a 25-member training squad for the mega event in the West Indies.

''We will be using all the expertise at our disposal in this plan. For instance, we have added Jonty Rhodes to the Proteas management team as an ODI specialist from now until after the World Cup,'' South African cricket board CEO Gerald Majola said here.

Rhodes is currently engaged with the Pakistan team as a fielding consultant and will conduct a 14-day training camp for them in June.

Mr Majola also announced a wide-ranging preparation plan for World Cup it includes a 16-man squad to play in the Emerging Players Tournament in Australia in July and the utilisation of five upcoming international tournaments to forge the final World Cup squad of 15, a United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCBSA) release said here.

In addition, the UCBSA has set up an Executive Committee, comprising convenor of selectors Haroon Lorgat, coach Mickey Arthur, captain Graeme Smith and Mr Majola among others, to oversee the plan.

''This strategic plan is aimed at leaving no stone unturned in order the give the Proteas the very best preparation available,'' Mr Majola said.

He said a squad of 25 players has been chosen which will receive individual training programmes from Proteas trainer, Adrian le Roux.

''The national selection panel selected players with high potential to play at international level, and the squad includes both experienced and young players,'' the UCBSA chief revealed.

Coach Mickey Arthur would also head a specialist cricket committee to plan tactics and strategies and this committee will begin their meetings next month.

''Careful planning and early preparations will enhance our chances of success at the 2007 World Cup,'' convenor of selectors Haroon Lorgat said in the statement.

The 25-man training squad: Graeme Smith, Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Jaeques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Robin Peterson, Andrew Hall, Makhaya Ntini, Loots Bosman, Ashwell Prince, Nicky Boje, Roger Telemachus, Charl Langerveld, Garnett Kruger, Dale Steyn, Johan van der Wath, Andre Nel, Justin Ontong, Alfonso Thomas, Johan Botha, Monde Zondeki, Albie Morkel.

Write Comments