ITCF to meet Bihar in Twenty Cricket opener

Published: Monday, May 22, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula:The first edition of the National Twenty 20 Cricket Championship will begin here tomorrow with Indian Twenty-20 Cricket Federation meeting Bihar at in pool A.

The other fixtures billed for the day one are Uttar Pradesh vs Andhra Pradesh (pool B) and Chattisgarh vs Bihar (pool A).

Indian Twenty 20 Cricket Federation secretary general Piyush Rana and chairman of Organising Committee ID Kamboj told newsmen here today that most of the teams would be studded with a number of Ranji Trophy players and National A star players.

The organisers have made elaborate arrangements for the smooth conduct of the championship, which has assumed greater significance since Indian probables for the forthcoming Asia Cup would be choosen during the Nationals.

''Twenty-20 is something new. However the latest cricket's innovation is aimed at attracting more families to the ground. The players are also getting more accustomed to the new version of cricket and they have started enjoying it. It is less time consuming and result-oriented game,'' said the ITCF officials.

Kamboj said that Anter Attam Singh, RP Singh, Anil Sharma and Mahal Singh had been appointed umpires while cricket statistician Rajesh Arora would be the official scorer.

The organisers have prepared seven pitches and the ground is lush green. Today's morning rain has brought down temperature. As the day progressed, the sky became clear and the organisers heaved a sigh of relief.

The teams have been divided into four groups and the top team from each group will qualify for the semi-finals to be played on May 27.

The pool A will consist of ITCF, Bihar and Chattisgarh. Uttar Pradesh , Andhra Pradesh and hosts Haryana have been clubbed in group B. Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai and Uttranchal have been placed in Group C. Punjab, West Bengal and Chandigarh are in Group D.

Write Comments