West Indies retain winning team for third ODI

Published: Monday, May 22, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

St John's, Antigua:West Indies has reposed faith in the same team that beat India in the second One-dayer in Kingston and named an unchanged 14-member squad for the third One-dayer at Warner Park in St Kitts tomorrow.

''The West Indies selectors met after the first two One Day Internationals of the Digicel 2006 Series against India in Jamaica and have named an unchanged 14 man squad for the historic third Digicel ODI at Warner Park in St Kitts,'' a West Indies Cricket Board release said here.

Incidentally, Warner Park will be hosting the first-ever official ODI at the renovated venue in St Kitts.

After losing the first match of the series to Team India by five wickets at Kingston, the hosts levelled the series at the same Sabina Park via a thrilling one-run win.

In both the matches, the team think-tank fielded the same 11 players and they are unlikely to tinker with that in the third match as well.

Named in the 14-member squad, allrounder Dwayne Smith, left-arm spinner Dave Mohammed and medium pacer Corey Collymore are yet to play any match even though they have been retained for the St Kitts trip.

Trinidad and Tobago host the final two ODIs on Friday and Sunday.

West Indies squad: Brian Lara (captain), Christopher Gayle, Runako Morton, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh (wicketkeeper), Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Jerome Taylor, Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo and Dave Mohammed.

Write Comments