Jr Women Cricket: AP, Maharastra enter semis

Published: Tuesday, May 23, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Anantapur:Defending champion Andhra Pradesh and runner-up Maharastra entered semi-finals of the Junior National Women Cricket Championship for Rajiv Gandhi Trophy here today.

Andhra Pradesh defeated Madhya Pradesh by 54 runs while Maharastra defeated Punjab by six wickets.

Put into bat Andhra Pradesh made 155 for the loss of seven wickets in allotted 40 overs.

Women of the match Savita Nirala hit 57 off 66 balls with eight hits to the fence. Geetha (20, 4x4), Sravanti Nayudu (23, 3x4) and Soujanya Nath (20, 2x4) were other chief scorers.

Among MP bowlers, off spinner Geetha took three wickets, giving away just 12 runs.

Later Madhya Pradesh were shot out for 101 in just 29.2 overs, thanks to the effective bowling by Andhra bowlers.

Barring Ruchita (43 off 55 balls, 5x4) and Sukhadha (23, 1x4), other batswomen failed to impress.

Right Arm medium pacer Dhanalaxmi took two for 12 and off spinner Savita Nirala took two wickets for 20 runs.

In another match, Punjab elected to bat made 168 for the loss of nine wickets in 40 overs.

Sakitcha (57 off 78 balls, 6x4), Gurupreet Kaur (27 off 51 balls, 2x4) were chief scorers.

Among Maharastra bowlers medium pacer Uma took three wickets for 20 runs, spinners Kiran took three for 25 runs and Shweta took two for 15 runs.

Later Maharastra scored required 169 runs losing four wickets in just 32.5 overs, Trupti hit 46 off 71 balls with four boundaries, Swaroopa scored 36 off 49 balls with 3x4 and Sahil hit 23 with three fours.

Brief scores: Ground-1: AP 155/7 in 40 overs (Savita 57, Geetha 20, Sravanthi 23, Soujanya 20, Geetha 3/12) beat MP 101 all out in 29.2 overs (Ruchita 43, Sukhadha 23, Dhanalaxmi 2/12, Savitha 2/20).

Ground -2: Punjab 169/4 in 40 overs (Sakitcha 57, Gurupreet Kaur 27, Kiran 3/23, Uma 3/20, Shweta 2/15) lost to Maharastra 169/4 in 32.5 overs (Trupti 46, Sahil 23, Swaroopa 36).

Tomorrow's Fixtures: Ground-1: Karnataka Vs Haryana.

Ground-2: West Bengal Vs Uttar Pradesh.

Write Comments