Sri Lanka include Malinga in 12-member squad

Published: Wednesday, May 24, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Birmingham:Sri Lanka included pace bowler Lasith Malinga in their 12-man squad for the second Test against England at Edgbaston.

But there was no place for former captain Sanath Jayasuriya in their 12-man party.

Out-of-form batsman Jehan Mubarak was omitted from the squad after two low scores in the drawn first Test at Lord's and his place as an opening batsman went to Michael Vandort instead of Jayasuriya.

The 36-year-old left-hander arrived in England during the Lord's match, the first of a three-match series, after announcing the end of his Test retirement following persuasion by Sri Lanka's new chairman of selectors Asantha De Mel.

However, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene said Wednesday it was important the team gave their younger players a chance to shine.

Malinga, 22, who took five wickets during the recent draw with Sussex, the tourists' final warm-up match before the second Test, could now come into the line-up after Sri Lanka took just six wickets as England piled up 551 for six declared in their only innings at Lord's.

England (from): Andrew Flintoff (capt), Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Matthew Hoggard, Geraint Jones (wkt), Jon Lewis, Sajid Mahmood, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Andrew Strauss, Marcus Trescothick

Sri Lanka (from): Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Upul Tharanga, Michael Vandort, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Darrell Hair (AUS), TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Write Comments