UP and ITCF qualify for Twenty20 semi-finals

Published: Wednesday, May 24, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula:Uttar Pradesh and Indian Twenty20 Cricket Federation topped their respective pools and qualified for the semi-finals in the first edition of the National Twenty20 Super Zone Cricket Championship at the Chaudhary Devi Lal Sports Complex here today.

The winners recorded their second successive victories in their respective groups to finish their league matches. From Pool A Bihar and Chattisgarh and from Pool B Andhra Pradesh and Haryana made their exit from the tournament.

A brilliant 78-run partnership for the fifth-wicket stand between Sourabh Singh (57 not out, 6x4s) and Shakeel Ahmed (29) helped Uttar Pradesh defeat Haryana by four wickets for their second successive victory in a three-team Pool B league.

Chasing a victory target of 156 runs, Uttar Pradesh achieved their target in 19.3 overs and losing six wickets. After the fall of opener Santosh Sharma (0) at four, opener Himash Vermani (12) and Ajit Singh (34, 3x4s, 2x6s) put of 53 runs for the second wicket stand before Vermani was run out. Then came the 78-run parthership between Sourabh Singh and Shakeel Ahmed which tilted the scales in Uttar Pradesh's favour. Haryana bowler Vanshaj Rana bagged two wickets for 22 runs.

Earlier, Haryana posted 155 in 19.1 overs. Karan Verma (27), Sachin Hooda (22), Manish Kumar (19), Parveen Ranga (29) and Rahul Rana (22) were the main scorers. Ubed Kamaal (3 for 12), Ajit Singh (2 for 16) and Vicky Pandey (2 for 33) were the main scorers for Uttar Pradesh.

Sourabh Singh was declared man of the match.

Later in the afternoon session, Haryana (161 for 9) had the consolation of beating Andhra Pradesh (47 in 10.3 overs) by 114 runs in an inconsequential match.

In a pool A fixture, man of the match Charanjeet Singh (50 not out in 45 balls, 4x4s) fashioned Indian Twenty20 Cricket Federation's 22-run victory over Chhattisgarh.

Batting first ITCF made 139 for 6 in 20 overs. Charanjit and Umesh Kaira (19) were associated in a 40-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Charanjit and Tejvinder Gill (28) contributed 37 runs for the sixth wicket. In reply, Chattisgarh could score only 117 for 9 in 20 overs. Shishir Pandey (29), Gurmeet Singh (22) and Gurpreet Singh (18) were their principal scorers. Parveen Sharma, Rubal Kapil, Umesh Kaira and Harish Garg got two wickets apiece for 16, 16, 20 and 16 runs, respectively.

Brief scores: Group A: ITCF: 139 for 6 in 20 overs (Charanjeet Singh 50, Tejwinder Gill 28, Jagdish Kumar 22, Umesh Kaira 19, Bheema Rao 1 for 10, Manoj Kumar 1 for 21, T Surindra 1 for 36).

Chattisgarh: 117 for 9 in 20 overs (Shishir Pandey 29, Gurmeet Singh 22, Gurpreet Singh 18, Parveen Sharma 2 fof 16, Rubal Kapil 2 for 16, Harish Garg 2 for 16, Umesh Kaira 2 for 20).

Man of the Match: Charanjeet Singh.

Group B: Haryana: 155 in 19.1 overs (Parveen Ranga 29, Rahul Rana 22, Sachin Hooda 22, Karan Verma 27, Manish Kumar 19, Ubed Kamaal 3 for 12, Ajit Singh 2 for 16, Vicky Pandey 2 for 33).

Uttar Pradesh: 156 for 6 in 19.3 overs (ASourabh Singh 57, Ajit Singh 34, Shakeel Ahmed 29, Vanshaj Rana 2 for 22, Rahul Rana 1 for 27).

Man of the Match: Sourabh Singh.

Group B: Haryana: 161 for 9 in 20 overs (Karan Verma 71, Sachin Hooda 28, Shiv Areon 22, Rahul Rana 17, Shiva Nagraj 3 for 32, S Ansar Bastta 2 for 23).

Andhra Pradesh: 47 all out in 10.3 overs (Vijay Kumar 17, Rahul Rana 4 for 16, Vanshaj Rana 3 for 5, Kuldip Hooda 2 for 21).

Man of the Match: Karan Verma.

Tomorrow's fixtures: Punjab vs West Bengal (700 hours), MP vs Mumbai (1015 hours) and Punjab vs Chandigarh (1330 hours).

Write Comments