Twenty20 Cricket: Chandigarh beat Punjab

Published: Thursday, May 25, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula:An unbeaten 74-run partnership between former Punjab Ranji player Harikishan Kali and Sajid Khan helped Chandigarh post an easy eight-wicket victory over Punjab in a pool C fixture of the Super Zone National Twenty20 Cricket Championship at the Ch Devi Lal Sports Complex here today.

Chasing a victory target of 111, Chandigarh did not face much trouble from the Punjab bowlers and completed their task in 15.1 overs.

Chandigarh suffered two early hic-ups but Sajid and Harikishan held fort and frustrated the Punjab bowlers.

Harikishan Kali was in good form and hit all over the park as soon as he came in to bat. His hurricane unbeaten half century came in just 48 balls and contained six fours and one six. While Sajid Khan's 35 contained three fours.

Earlier, Punjab had scored 110 for 9 in their 20 overs. Vinod Manhas (22) and Amrinder Brar (30) were their main scorers. Sunil Upadhayay wrecked the Punjab innings as he scalped four wickets for just 12 runs in four overs. His strike-mate Harikishan Kali captured two wickets for 21 runs.

Former Test all-rounder Yograj Singh was also a member of the Chandigarh team. He conceded 17 runs in his two overs.

Punjab bowed out of the tournament after suffering their second successive defeat. In the morning, star-studded West Bengal beat Punjab by 32 runs in a pool D match. Punjab captain Amit Sharma won the toss but opted to field first.

West Bengal scored 119 for 8 in their 20 overs. Charanjit Singh was their top scorer with an unbeaten 44, which contained five fours.

V Manhas and Amit Sharma got two wickets each for 23 and 24 runs, respectively.

Punjab were dismally dismissed for just 87 runs in 16.5 overs.

Left arm spinner S Karmakar (3 for 13) was Bengal's main wicket-taker.

Ashok Dinda (2 for 12), S Chakrabarty (2 for 15) and S Goyal (2 for 17) also contributed in mauling Punjab.

Karmakar was declared the man of the match.

In a group C match, Madhya Pradesh defeated Mumbai by 103 runs.

Brief scores: Group D: Punjab: 110 for 9 in 20 overs (Vinod Manhas 22, Amrinder Brar 30. Sunil Upadhay 4 for 12, Harikishan Kali 2 for 21).

Chandigarh:111 for 2 in 15.1 overs (Sandeep Kohli 12, Sajid Khan not out 35, Harikishan Kali 50 not out, V Manhas 1 for 31, Ranjit Singh 1 for 24).

Man of the Match: Harikishan Kali.

West Bengal: 119 for 8 in 20 overs (A Jhunjanwala 12, Manoj Tiwari 19, Charanjit Singh 44, Alokendu Lahiri 10, V Manhas 2 for 23, Ranjit Singh 1 for 20, Amit Sharma 2 for 24, Navneet 1 for 20).

Punjab: 87 in 16.5 overs (Jaswinder Jassi 14, Vinod Manhas 27, S Karmakar 3 for 13, S Hoyal 2 for 17, S Chakrabarty 2 for 15, Ashok Dinda 2 for 12).

Man of the Match: Sumen Karmakar.

Group C: Madhya Pradesh: 154 for 9 in 20 overs (Anupam Rathore 37, Birjesh Patel 37, Yogendra Kanshana 18, Ashutosh Jadhev 16, Hussen Mujawar 3 for 27, Siran Shaikh 2 for 14, Feroz Khan 2 for 34, Aslam Shaikh 2 for 31).

Mumbai: 51 all out (Avinash Kingaonkar 10, Anil Shelke 14, SM Abbas 4 for 6, A Jadhav 2 for 12, Amit Sharma 2 for 2, Uma Shankar 2 for 4).

Man of the Match: Syed Mohd Abass.

Write Comments