Sri Lanka win toss and bat against England

Published: Thursday, May 25, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Birmingham:Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test against England at Edgbaston.

England were unchanged from the team that drew the first Test at Lord's, with uncapped seamer Jon Lewis once again omitted after being included in the pre-match squad.

Sri Lanka Thursday made two changes with opening batsman Jehan Mubarak replaced by Michael Vandort.

Meanwhile paceman Lasith Malinga, a bowler with a distinctive slingshot action, was called up into the team in place of batsman Chamara Kapugedera.

Malinga has taken 54 wickets in 15 Tests at an average of 29.48 and in Sri Lanka's final match before this Test, against Sussex, he took five wickets.

England: Marcus Trescothick, Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff (capt), Geraint Jones (wkt), Liam Plunkett, Matthew Hoggard, Sajid Mahmood, Monty Panesar

Sri Lanka: Michael Vandort, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Thilan Samraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Darrell Hair (AUS), TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Write Comments