Uttaranchal, Chandigarh enter Twenty20 final

Published: Sunday, May 28, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula:Unpretentious Uttaranchal and strong contenders Chandigarh stormed into the final of the first Super Zone National Twenty20 Cricket Championship being conducted by Haryana Twenty20 Cricket Association at Devi Lal Sports Complex.

In the semi-finals matches, Uttaranchal defeated Indian Twenty20 Cricket Association by eight runs and hot favourites Chandigarh handed out a 118-run drubbing to Uttar Pradesh

Batting first Chandigarh posted the highest total of the tournament as they made 164 for 9 in 20 overs. They today surpassed Haryana's total of 161. In reply, Uttar Pradesh innings fell like ninepins and were skittled out for just 46 runs in 8.5 overs. The man who destroyed their innings was medium pacer Sanjay Mahajan who dismissed five UttarPradesh batsmen. Sunil (3 for 22) and all-rounder Harikishan Kali (2 for 4) gave him full support. Sanjay Mahajan was adjudged man of the match.

Earlier, Uttar Pradesh won the toss and asked Chandigarh to bat first. A 43-run partnership for the sixth wicket between former Punjab Harikishan Kali (41) and Farman Ahmed (44) paved the way for Chandigarh to post 164 for 9.

Harkishan Kali hit one six and four fours before he was caught and bowled by Vicky Pandey (1 for 27).

His wicket fell at 132. Farhman Ahmed's brilliant knock of 44 contained five fours and one six. Fromer Ranji player Ubaid Kamaal (3 for 20) was the most economical bowler as he dismissed three Chandigarh batsmen for 20 runs in four overs.

Kali was also associated in a 40-run association with Sandeep Kohli (19) before the latter was run out due to a mix-up.

Earlier, Uttranchal won the toss and batted first. Their innings was propped up captain Mohd Imfran who batted sensibly to pile up 46 which contained six fours of 47 deliveries. He occupied the crease for 46 minutes before he was adjudged leg before wicket to Harish Garg. He was associated for a 37-run valuable partnership for the fourth wicket with Ravi Bisht (15).

Jagdish Kumar was the most successful bowler for ITCF as he dismissed three Uttranchal batsmen and conceded just 17 runs.

Parveen Sharma captured two wickets for 23 runs. Umesh Kaira and Kulwinder Romi got one wicket each for 23 and 14 runs, respectively.

Chasing a victory target of 123 runs, ITCF could muster 114 for 9 in 20 overs. Openers Umesh Kaira (19) and Gurinder Saini (26) gave strong contenders ITCF a good start as their partnership yielded 47 runs. However, after the fall of Saini's innings, bowled by left arm spinner Ravi Bisht (3 for 30), ITCF wickets continued to fell at regular intervals.

Only Harish Garg, who came at the fall of Saini's wicket, Jagdish (11) and Kulwinder Romi (16) could reach the double figure.

Ravi Bisht's victims were Gurinder Saini, Harish Garg and Tejgobind (1). Sunny Rana (1 for 19), Rajan Kumar (1 for 25) and Navnish (2 for 12) were the other wicket takers for Uttranchal who emerging the dark horse of the tournament with their performance till today.

Brief scores (Semi-finals): Uttranchal: 122 for 7 in 20 overs (Mohd Imran 46, Ravi Bisht 15, Ashish Johi 16, Jagdish Kumar 3 for 13, Parveen Sharma 2 for 23, Umesh Kaira 1 for 23, Kulwinder Romi 1 for 14).

Indian Twenty20 Cricket Federation: 114 for 9 (Umesh Kaira 19, Gurinder Saini 26, Harish Garg 18, Jagdish 11, Kulwinder Romi 16 not out, Ravi Bisht 3 for 30, Navnish 2 for 12, Sunny Rana 1 for 19, Rajan Kumar 1 for 25). Man of the Match: Mohd Imran.

Chandigarh: 164 in 20 overs (Harikishan Kali 41, Farman Ahmed 44, Sandeep Kohli 19, Prabhjot Singh 16, Sanjay Mahajan 11, Sunil Upadhaya 10, Ubaid Kamaal 3 for 20, Pradeep Sachan 1 for 22, Ajay Chauhan 1 for 27, Ajit Singh 1 for 33, Vicky Pandey 1 for 27).

Uttar Pradesh: 46 all out in8.5 overs (Sourabh 13, Sanjay Mahajan 5 for 22, Sunil 3 for 16, Harikishan 2 for 4). Man of the match: Sanjay Mahajan.

Write Comments