Sreesanth to miss second Test due to injury

Published: Friday, June 9, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gros Islet:India have suffered an injury setback two days before the second Test against West Indies, starting on Saturday at the Beausejour Stadium.

Shantha Sreesanth has been ruled out with a sore heel that team physiotherapist John Gloster indicates the fast bowler will need three to five days to overcome.

"Sreesanth pulled up sore in the left heel at the end of the last Test match," Gloster told reporters on Thursday.

"He has got an inflamed bursar at the back of the heel. We saw a specialist, and he gave him an injection in that heel. The specialist is confident it will settle down reasonably quickly, but at this stage, we are going to give him three to five days of rest.

"We will then work him back to full fitness after this."

Sreesanth was in the thick of things, when he bowled the final over of the opening Test at the Antigua Recreation Ground on Tuesday.

Batting bunny Corey Collymore survived the six deliveries to earn West Indies a morale-boosting draw in the four-Test series.

"This came on during the last match, so it's a little bit unfortunate for Sree," Gloster said. "We are pretty confident the injection he took will get on top of the injury, and we will see how he goes over the next three to five days."

Sreesanth missed the first two matches of the preceding limited-overs series with a similar injury, but Gloster noted it was not a recurrence of that injury.

The Indians are also coming to grips with the news that Virender Sehwag was fined 20 per cent of his match fee for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during the first Test, but West Indies captain Brian Lara escaped censure for his behaviour.

Sehwag pleaded guilty to excessive appealing to ICC match referee Jeff Crowe in a hearing after play concluded at the ARG on Tuesday.

Sehwag was found to have breached 1.5 of the ICC Code which relates to "the practice of celebrating a dismissal before the decision has been given."

Lara however, escaped punishment after wagging his finger in the face of umpire Asad Rauf, and snatching the ball from him following the controversial catch that dismissed Mahendra Dhoni in India's second innings.

Write Comments