Los Angeles Open Twenty20 starts on July 1st

Published: Wednesday, June 21, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Los Angeles:The Los Angeles Open Twenty20 cricket tournament, the premier cricket tournament in the United States, starting on July 1, announced its lineup of teams and players. International stars like Mohd Azharuddin, Kumara Dharmasena and Ricardo Powell will participate the $25,000-price money tournament.

The participating teams include Trinidad&Tobago, Air India, Trinidad 1st division league champions Aleson Comets, Punjab Blues of Southern California, Packers XI of Southern California, SCCA XI and some top teams from New York, Florida, Chicago, Northern California and Washington DC, organisers said in press release.

Packers XI will start as mighty with Mohd Azharuddin, Nikhil Chopra, Rohan Gavaskar, Arvind Shetty, Romesh Kaluwitharana and Kumara Dharmasena. International player Ricardo Powell, Lendl Simmons and Dave Mohammed will pad up for Trinidad&Tobago. Air India will raise a strong challenge with stars like Sameer Dighe, Pravin Amre and Narendra Hirwani. Punjab XI will be powered by Richie Richardson, Stuart William Curtly Ambrose and Adam Stanford, said release.

In the past, LA Open had seen an average of almost 200 runs scored in each 20-over innings, creating much excitement and entertainment for spectators and players. "There is no other place in the US where you get to see so many good quality cricket players, assembled in one location, playing action packed cricket for three days" says Kamal Doshi, one of the LA Open organizers.

There are currently over 9,000 cricketers, many of whom have played international and first class cricket for their home countries, now residing and playing in the US. Many of the US teams participating in the 2006 LA Open will showcase a collection of the best first class players from their particular region, said organisers.

The 2006 LA Open will be held at Woodley Park Cricket Fields in Van Nuys, California, a site that offers four international class cricket fields in one centralized location. Hamilton Brewart Insurance Services is the tournament sponsor and will present the Hamilton Brewart Trophy to the winning team. The three-day tournament will end on July 3rd.

Write Comments