Australia dominate CEAT cricket awards

Published: Wednesday, June 28, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:The CEAT cricket ratings awards 2005-06 which were announced here today saw Australia annexing all the top categories-- the International Cricketer of the Year, International Team of the Year and International Debutant of the year awards.

Sunil Gavaskar, one of the adjudicators along with Australian former Aussie captain Ian Chappell, who was present on the occasion announced the names of Ricky Ponting as the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year, Australia as the CEAT International Team of the Year and Mike Hussey as the CEAT International debutant of the year award.

CEAT which has revived these awards after a hiatus of three years along with a new logo also announced a rating system for domestic cricket to recognise the outstanding talent. These ratings will be called the ''CEAT India Cricket Ratings'' and will honour and nurture those unsung talented cricketers who have proved their mettle in domestic arena.

Another unique dimension to these Indian Ratings is CEAT's effort to create the CEAT XI team. This team which was announced for the 2005-06 season today, would give enthusiasts a clear idea of the budding talent and the potential new entrants into the Indian national cricket team.

For the moment, these CEAT India cricket ratings will be applied to performances in the Elite Group of the Ranji Trophy.

The domestic awards would be given in four categories - CEAT Domestic cricketer of the year, CEAT Domestic batsman of the year, CEAT Domestic Bowler of the Year, CEAT most promising youngster of the year.

Gavaskar announcing the domestic awards said that Romesh Powar of Mumbai was chosen as the CEAT Domestic cricketer of the year and would get Rs 2 lakh and a trophy, S Badrinath of Tamil Nadu as the domestic batsman of the year and Praveen Kumar of Uttar Pradesh as the best domestic bowler and most promising youngster and they would stand to gain Rs one lakh and a trophy each.The CEAT Domestic XI was also announced on the occasion by Gavaskar and it is as follows Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Mongia, S Badrinath, Amol Muzumdar, Jacob Martin, Vinayak Samant, Ramesh Powar, S Trivedi, Praveen Kumar, Joginder Sharma, S Lahiri. Gavaskar speaking on the occasion said that CEAT awards are the ultimate as it is these awards which take only performances into consideration.

Whichever player plays against whichever team is given equal weightage and points and those with the most points is declared the winner, he said, adding that though some of the awards give more weightage to performances against better teams and less to those against weaker teams, we felt that whatever the opposition, you still have to go out to perform, score runs and take wickets.

The CEAT awards function will be held sometime in mid-October with the International Cricketer of the Year getting 10,000 dollars along with a trophy, the International Team of the Year getting 20,000 dollars along with a trophy, while the International Debutant of the Year being richer by 4,000 dollars and a trophy.

Harsh Goenka, Chairman of the RPG Group, who unveiled the new logo for the ratings, said that the new logo is meant to highlight the close association of CEAT with cricket and the pioneering position of the CEAT Cricket Ratings in the cricket lovers minds.

Write Comments