England win toss and bat against Sri Lanka

Published: Saturday, July 1, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Leeds:England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final One-day international against Sri Lanka at Headingley here.

England, looking to avoid being whitewashed 5-0 for the first time into a head-to-head One-day series, were unchanged from the team beaten by 33 runs in the fourth match of the international series at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

That meant the experienced but injured duo of batsman Kevin Pietersen (knee) and all-rounder Paul Collingwood (thigh) were not risked ahead of the upcoming Test series against Pakistan.

Sri Lanka made one change with teenager Chamara Kapugedera replacing out-of-form middle-order batsman Russel Arnold.

England: Marcus Trescothick, Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Andrew Strauss (capt), Vikram Solanki, Jamie Dalrymple, Geraint Jones (wkt), Tim Bresnan, Liam Plunkett, Kabir Ali, Stephen Harmison

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Malinga Bandara, Dilhara Fernando

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WIS), Mark Benson (ENG). TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG). Match referee: Clive Lloyd (WIS)

Write Comments