Experimentation to be the mantra of selectors

Published: Wednesday, July 19, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Experimentation would be the mantra of the national selectors when they sit down to select the Indian cricket team for the Sri Lanka tri-series tournament here tomorrow.

India will participate in the tri-series tournament, which also includes hosts Sri Lanka and South Africa from August 14-29.

The national selectors under the chairmanship of Kiran More, would have atleast one headache less with the return of master blaster Sachin Tendulkar who was declared fit without undergoing a fitness test.

With the return of the Mumbai maestro, one of the young turks in Suresh Raina, Venugopal Rao and Robin Uthappa would have to sit out.

Also on the cards is the re-induction of Punjab captain Dinesh Mongia in the team after seeing his good form in the English county scene.

The selectors want to try as many players as possible so that they have the team they want in mind when the World Cup comes in around eight-month time.

Keeping this in mind, mention of Mumbai youngster Rohit Sharma is also doing the rounds. Sharma, who is yet to play a Ranji Trophy game, has impressed everyone in his short stint with the India 'A' team and is at present in Hobart playing for India 'A'.

However, the selectors are unlikely to bring back seniors Anil Kumble and V V S Laxman into the One-day squad and try to change the team combination by trying out youngsters, in view to get a fair idea of the players needed for the World Cup campaign. The selectors are likely to tinker with the fringe players though and the main nucleus of the team is likely to stay the same.

Sehwag, Dravid, Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mohd Kaif would be the mainstay of the batting department, Mahendra Singh Dhoni would be the wicket-keeper batsman in the team .

The pace bowling department would be manned by Mumbai all-rounder Ajit Agarkar, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan and S Sreesanth and or R P Singh. While Harbhajan Singh is likely to be the main spinner, off-spinner Ramesh Powar is also likely to hold his place. That would leave two places open if 14 members are selected.

These two places could see some surprises with Dinesh Mongia in all probability making a comeback and the last spot going to Suresh Raina, though Rohit Sharma could pose him tough competition.

Write Comments