Proteas elect to bat in first Sri Lanka Test

Published: Thursday, July 27, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo:South Africa captain Ashwell Prince won the toss and elected to bat in the first cricket Test against Sri Lanka at the Sinhalese sports club here.

The Proteas left out opener Boeta Dippenaar to play a fifth bowler in seamer Dale Steyn. Andrew Hall will open the batting with Herschelle Gibbs.

Sri Lanka omitted leg-spinner Malinga Bandara and went in with three seamers and a lone specialist spinner in Muttiah Muralitharan.

South Africa: Ashwell Prince (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, Jacques Rudolph, A.B. De Villiers, Mark Boucher, Andrew Hall, Nicky Boje, Makhaya Ntini, Andre Nel, Dale Steyn. 12th man: Boeta Dippenaar.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardena (capt), Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Prasanna Jayawardena, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan. 12th man: Malinga Bandara.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Mark Benson (ENG)

TV umpire: Asoka de Silva (SRI)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Write Comments