England win toss and bat against Pakistan

Published: Friday, August 4, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Leeds:England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and elected to bat in the third Test against Pakistan at Headingley here.

England Friday made one change to the team that won the second Test by an innings and 120 runs at Old Trafford with Chris Read in for dropped wicket-keeper Geraint Jones, whose run of 31 consecutive Tests since April 2004 was ended by the selectors because of a lack of runs.

As at Old Trafford, pace bowler Jon Lewis was omitted from England's 12-man squad.

Pakistan made three changes with Salman Butt, dropped at Old Trafford, restored as an opener in place of the injured Imran Farhat (right ring finger) while all-rounders Abdul Razzaq and Shahid Afridi were dropped.

Wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal, an opener at Old Trafford, moved down the order with specialist opening batsman Taufeeq Umar in for his first game of the series.

Meanwhile, 28-year-old fast-medium bowler Shahid Nazir was recalled for his first Test in seven years, and the ninth of his career, having last played Test cricket for Pakistan against Sri Lanka at Lahore in 1999.

The tourists, as they had been in the drawn series opener at Lord's and at Old Trafford, were without their three leading quick bowlers - Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Asif and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan - because of injury.

England lead the four-match series 1-0.

England: Marcus Trescothick, Andrew Strauss (capt), Alastair Cook, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Ian Bell, Chris Read (wkt), Sajid Mahmood, Matthew Hoggard, Stephen Harmison, Monty Panesar

Pakistan: Taufeeq Umar, Salman Butt, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Mohammad Sami, Shahid Nazir, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria

Umpires: Darrell Hair (AUS), Billy Doctrove (WIS), TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Write Comments