Australia name 30-man squad for ICC trophy

Published: Monday, August 7, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Australia announced an initial 30-man squad for the ICC Champions Trophy in India in October. Selectors will reduce the squad to 14 on September 7 in line with ICC regulations.

"We're pleased with this squad of 30. There is a lot of experience in the squad which reflects the fact that Australia has been on top of the international One-day game for some time," chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said in a statement Monday.

"Experience is blended with a group of exciting young players who have largely been involved in the Australia A Top End Series recently and have come through the Centre of Excellence program."

Australia's first match at the ICC Champions Trophy is in Mumbai on October 18.

Australia - Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Mark Cosgrove, Dan Cullen, Brett Dorey, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, James Hopes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Michael Lewis, Glenn McGrath, Shaun Marsh, Damien Martyn, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Write Comments