Aussies face Windies to kick-off tri-series

Published: Saturday, August 12, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:The South East Asia tri-series between India, Australia and West Indies which will be held in Singapore and Malaysia will kick-off with a match between the World Cup champions Australia and ICC Champions Trophy holders West Indies on September 12 under lights in Singapore.

The tournament being organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will see India clash with West Indies on September 14, as per the tentative itinerary prepared by the BCCI.

''The itinerary has to be approved by the Board's Working Committee at its sitting in Chennai on August 16,'' said BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah in Mumbai today.

''The first three matches would be played in Singapore and the last four, including the final on September 24, would be held in Malaysia. All the matches would be held under lights,'' Mr Shah added.

''All matches would commence at 3 pm local time [1230 IST], except the third tie (September 16, between India and Australia) which would start at 2 pm (1130 IST) to enable the teams to finish early and leave Singapore for Malaysia,'' he said.

Mr Shah also added that the Indian squad for the tournament, as well as the final team for the October 7-November 5 Champions Trophy, would be picked on September 6 or 7.

The tentative schedule: Sept 12: Australia v West Indies Sept 14: India v West Indies Sept 16: India v Australia Sept 18: Australia v West Indies Sept 20: India v West Indies Sept 22: India v Australia Sept 24: Final.

Write Comments