India a point behind Pak in ICC Test table

Published: Wednesday, August 23, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai: India have benefitted from the forfeited Oval Test between England and Pakistan, as Rahul Dravid's men are now just a point behind their sub-continental rivals, who have swapped places with the English to drop to the third spot in the latest LG ICC Test Rankings issued here.

The Indians remained static at fourth but have closed down the points gap to just one after Pakistan were overtaken by England for the second spot following the 3-0 Test series win, confirmed by the forfeited fourth Test at the Oval, which was marred by the ball-tampering row.

Inzamam-ul Haq's side walked out of the ground after being accused of tampering with the ball by Austarlian umpire Darrell Hair and are now facing a disciplinary inquiry by the ICC.

Meanwhile, veteran Indian leg spinner Anil Kumble remained static at sixth in the bowlers' list and was 10th in the all-rounders' table behind fifth placed compatriot Irfan Pathan and just two points below West Indian Chris Gayle.

Skipper Dravid, meanwhile, also continued to hold on to his second spot in the batting list but faces a major threat to his position from Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf, who has climbed to the third spot and is just seven points behind the Indian skipper.

Among the other Indians in the batting list, Virender Sehwag has gained a spot to be 16th, 10 points below Australian middle-order bat Damien Martyn.

Meanwhile, England's cricketers have a chance to dethrone Australia from the top spot in the ICC Test Championship table if they win the forthcoming Ashes series by three clear Tests.

England's series win over Pakistan has left it 11 rating points adrift of Ricky Ponting's table-topping side but the gap can be removed if England secures a comprehensive win in the five-match series that begins in Brisbane on November 23.

That, however, will be easier said than done as Australia has not lost a series at home since 1992/93 when the West Indies won 2-1.

And the last time England won a series there by three clear Tests was way back in 1978/79 when it triumphed 5-1.

For Pakistn Yousuf, who scored 631 runs in the four matches against England, is now the highest-placed batsman from his country in the list as he and Younis Khan, now fourth, have swapped places.

Inzamam remains unchanged in seventh position, completing a hat-trick of Pakistan players in the top 10 places.

England's leading batsman in the table remains Kevin Pietersen, in 11th spot, although captain Andrew Strauss is hot on his heels, up one place to 12th, equaling his best placing this year.

England still has three players in the top 20 positions -- Andrew Flintoff (fifth), Matthew Hoggard (sixth) and Stephen Harmison (11th) -- and all of them are non-movers.

Pakistan, meanwhile, has pace bowler Shoaib Akhtar in the eighth spot while leg-spinner Danish Kaneria is 19th, down one position.

LG ICC Test Championship table: 1.Australia (130), 2.England (119), 3.Pakistan (112), 4.India (111), 5.Sri Lanka (103), 6.South Africa (94), 7.New Zealand (92), 8.West Indies (72), 9.Zimbabwe (28), 10.Bangladesh (2).

LG ICC Test Rankings (Top 10 Batsmen): 1.Ricky Ponting (Aus) 931, 2.Rahul Dravid (Ind) 882, 3.Mohammad Yousuf (Pak) 875, 4.Younis Khan (Pak) 836, 5.Jacques Kallis (SA) 815, 6.Matthew Hayden (Aus) 808, 7.Inzamam-ul Haq (Pak) 785, 8.Mike Hussey (Aus) 780, 9.Kumar Sangakkara (SL) 771, 10.Mahela Jayawardene (SL) 770.

LG ICC Test Rankings (Top 10 Bowlers): 1.Muttiah Muralitharan (SL) 908, 2.Makhaya Ntini (SA) 830, 3.Shane Warne (Aus) 813, 4.Glenn McGrath (Aus) 811, 5.Andrew Flintoff (Eng) 737, 6.Anil Kumble (Ind) 736, 7.Matthew Hoggard (Eng) 723, 8.Shoaib Akhtar (Pak) 721, 9.Shane Bond (NZ) 720, 10.Corey Collymore (WI) 700.

LG ICC Test Rankings (Top 10 all-rounders) 1.Jacques Kallis (SA) 466, 2.Andrew Flintoff (Eng) 427, 3.Shaun Pollock (SA) 296, 4.Daniel Vettori (NZ) 290, 5.Irfan Pathan (Ind) 270, 6.Chaminda Vaas (SL) 262, 7.Shane Warne (AUS) 231, 8.Sanath Jayasuriya (SL) 226, 9.Chris Gayle (WI) 217, 10.Anil Kumble (IND) 215

Write Comments