Jayawardene retained as captain for ICC Trophy

Published: Saturday, August 26, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Colombo: Mahela Jayawardene has been retained as Sri Lanka captain for the Champions Trophy despite the return of former skipper Marvan Atapattu to the squad following a debilitating back injury.

Sri Lanka had hoped for Atapattu to play in the recent tri-series with India and South Africa that was abandoned because of security reasons.

Today, the selectors named Atapattu in the 14-man squad but want him to prove his fitness under match conditions before giving him back the leadership.

Atapattu will be competing for a middle order position with all rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan and Chamara Kapugedera.

The only change in Sri Lanka's squad was the omission of wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene. Kumar Sangakkara, also the vice-captain, will keep the gloves.

Sri Lanka leave for India on Oct. 1 to compete in a preliminary qualification round with West Indies, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

Squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Sanath Jayasuriya, Marvan Atapattu, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Ruchira Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Malinga Bandara, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Write Comments