England win toss, choose to bat against Pak

Published: Monday, August 28, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bristol: England won the toss and elected to bat first against Pakistan in the Twenty20 International at Bristol today.

It is the first meeting between the teams since Pakistan controversially forfeited the fourth Test at the Oval eight days ago.

Pakistan refused to take the field following tea on the fourth day of the test after being penalised five runs by umpires Darrell Hair and Billy Doctrove for alleged ball tampering.

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq faces charges of illegally altering the condition of the ball and bringing the game into disrepute.

Darren Gough was recalled to the England team today after 13 months, while Sussex all rounder Michael Yardy and Leicestershire seamer Stuart Broad were handed international debuts.

Shoaib Akhtar, Rana Naved and Shoaib Malik were included in the Pakistan team to make their respective comebacks from injury.

Pakistan have never played a Twenty20 International before.

Teams: England: Marcus Trescothick, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Strauss (captain), Paul Collingwood, Jamie Dalrymple, Michael Yardy, Chris Read, Sajid Mahmood, Darren Gough, Stuart Broad.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Hafeez, Younis Khan, Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammed Yousuf, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Rana Naved, Mohammad Asif.

Write Comments