Sarau Tiwari scores ton in Moin-ud-Dowla cup

Published: Sunday, September 3, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: Jharkhand batsman Sarau Tiwari scored a century against Assam while Goa was skittled out for a paltry 54 by Tripura in the All India Moin-ud-Dowla Gold Cup cricket tournament which began here.

Opting to bat first Jharkhand were all out for 288 in 88.1 overs.

Thanks to Sarau's timely century (100, 147 balls, 11x4) and half centuries from Ratan Kumar (77, 177 balls, 10x4) and Manish Kumar (53, 96 balls, 6x4) helped Jharkhand post a respectable score in their first innings. For Assam Sujay Tarafder (2/35), Krishna Das (2/36) and Anand Katti (3/88) bowled well.

In another match, Goa electing to bat first were all out for a paltry 54 runs in 32.2 overs in their first innings. Tripura's lanky bowler Gopesh Bhowmik operating from pavilion end, unchanged throughout the session with a good swing and intelligent pace bowling, virtually ran through Goa batting line up by picking half a dozen wickets for just 32 runs. Bappa Das and Jayanta Debnath took two each.

Barring Swapnil Asondkar (28, 3x4, 50 balls) none of Goan batsmen withstood the onslaughts of Tripura bowling. Tripura ended up the day making 159 for the loss of four wickets in 56 overs.

Bappa Das (64 in 147 mts, 11x4), Rajib Saha (34, 4x4), Rajesh Bavik (32 in 32 balls, 2x4) were the chief scorers.

In the third match, tight bowling by HCA President XI bowlers Alfred Absolem and MP Arjun dismissed BSNL for just 157 in 56.5 overs in their first innings. Right-arm medium pacer Alfred Absolem ran through BSNL's top order, picking up three wickets.

At lunch BSNL were in trouble losing four wickets for 111 in 35 overs. Absolem took his tally to six for 40 runs in 19.5 overs.

MP Arjun picked two wickets, while PS Niranjan one. Except Anshul Kapoor (44, 3x4) and Joginder Sharma (33, 5x4) others caved in meekly.

In reply, the Presidents Eleven made 78 for the loss of two wickets at stumps. In 29 overs. D B Ravi Teja (22, 1x4), Abhinav Kumar (19, 1x6, 1x4) were out cheaply, while D Vinay Kumar (11) and S Anoop Pai (16) remained unbeaten.

In another match, Railways were all out for 313 runs in 74.3 overs in 310 minutes. Karan Sharma (84, 136 mts, 127 balls, 10x4), M Tripathi (51, 35 mts, 38 balls, 3x6, 6x4), Avinash Yadav (38, 38 mts, 45 balls, 6x4) were chief scoreres for the Railways.

Combined Districts bowler Bharath Chandra picked up four wickets for 108 runs while Arjun took 2 for 62. Kareemuddin, Sarvesh Kumar and Mukesh took one each. Later Combined Districts replied with 16 for the loss of one wicket in nine overs. Dinesh (11, 2x4) and Akshit Reddy (4, 1x4) remained unbeaten at stumps.

Brief Scores: BSNL first innings 157 all out in 56.5 overs.(Anshul Kapoor 44, Joginder Sharma 33, A.Absolem 6/40. MP Arjun 2/57). HCA Presidents XI first innings 78/2 in 29 overs. Goa first innings 54 all out in 32.2 overs. (Gopesh 6/32, Bappa Das 2/14, Jayanta Debnath 2/4), Tripura first innings 159/4 in 56 overs (Bappa das 64, Rajib Saha 34, Rajesh Bavik 32).

Railways first innings 313 all out in 74.3 overs (Karan Sharma 85, Tripathi 51, Avinash 38, Bharath Chandra 4/108, Arjun 2/62), Combined Districts first innings 16/0 in 9 overs.

Jharkhand first innings 288 allout in 88.1 overs (Sarau Tiwari 100, Ratan Kumar 77, Manish Kumar 53, Sujay 2/35, Krishna Das 2/36, Anand Katti 3/88).

Write Comments