Railways, Assam and HCA Presidents XI win

Published: Tuesday, September 5, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad: Railways, Assam and Hyderabad Presidents XI entered pre-quarter finals of All India Moinuddowla Gold Cup cricket tournament defeating their rivals by handsome margins yesterday.

Railways, after making 246 for the loss of five wickets in 40 overs in their second innings, restricted Combined Districts XI to 172 for nine in 40 overs, to secure a 223-run victory. Mukthar Ali (38) was the top scorer in the Districts second innings. He was supported by Dinesh Chandra (24), Akshit Reddy (22) and Laxma Reddy (23). Among the Railway bowlers, Avinash (4/40), M Tripathi (2-40), Karan Sharma (2-33) bowled well.

The Jharkand batsmen could not withstand the onslaught of Assam bowling and were all out for 142 runs in 31 overs. C M Jha (35) was the top scorer. Arlen Konwar (4-8), Sujan Tarafder (3-3) and Anand Katti (3-63) were the pick of the bowlers for Assam. Later, Assam finished of in style making the 44 required runs losing just one wicket in 9.5 overs. This gave Assam a nine wicket victory.

Hyderabad Presidents XI defeated BSNL by nine wickets. After bowling out BSNL for 225 in 37.3 overs, Hyderabad scored the required 118 runs in 24.1 overs losing one wicket. Abhinav Kumar (50 not out, 78 balls, 5x5) and D B Rai Teja (39, 51 balls, 3x4) were the main scorers.

Write Comments