Rahul Dravid in hunt for four ICC awards

Published: Wednesday, September 6, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: Rahul Dravid keeps the tri-colour fluttering in the long list for cricket's version of Oscar and along with his Aussie and Sri Lankan counterparts Ricky Ponting and Mahela Jayawardene, the Team India skipper figures in four categories of the annual Hundai ICC Awards ceremony scheduled in Mumbai on October 23.

This will be third edition of the event, which was earlier hosted in London (2004) and Sydney (2005).

Dravid features in the Test Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year, Cricketer of the Year and the newly added Captain of the Year categories, along with Ponting and Jayawardene.

Dravid had won both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards in the inaugural edition of the event.

Apart from Captain of the Year, ICC, after the merger of male and female cricket governing bodies, also added a new Women Cricket of the Year category which has two India representations in Anjum Chopra and Neetu David.

''This is the first time that India would host the event and it's apt that the National Centre for Performing Arts in Mumbai will be the venue. For cricket has always been seen as a performing art in India,'' said ICC Chief Executive Malcolm Speed.

And he also defended Captain of the Year category.

''Cricket is not just about runs, wickets and catches. It is also about tactics and the way a side conducts itself and the captain plays a pivotal role in these aspects of the game,'' he said.

The nominations for seven individual awards has been compiled by a group of five selectors, headed by Sunil Gavaskar. Other selectors are former Proteas spearhead Allan Donald, former Aussie stumper Ian Healy, Sri Lanka's World Cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga and former Pakistan captain Waqar Younis.

The long list of nominations will go through a voting by the ICC Voting Academy, a group of 56 made up of current 10 ICC Full Member captains, 18 Emirates elite Panels of Match Referees and umpires and 28 legends of the game and member of the media.The five ICC selectors will also choose the Test and ODI teams of the Year.

Dravid is the lone Indian face in the Test player, Cricketer and Captain of the Year categories, while he has Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan for company in the ODI Player of the Year category.

India doesn't have any representation in Emerging Player of the Year and the Umpire of the Year categories.

However, a player of Indian origin, England's cult spinner Monty Panesar, is in the running for the Emerging Player award.


Test Player of the Year: Michael Hussey (Aus), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Mohammed Yousuf (Pak), Andrew Flintoff (Eng) Shane Warne (Aus), Muttiah Muralidaran (SL), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Rahul Dravid (Ind), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Younis Khan (Pak), Matthew Hayden (Aus), Makhaya Ntini (SA).

ODI Player of the Year: Yuvraj Singh (Ind), Michael Hussey (Aus), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Shane Bond (NZ), Irfan Pathan (Ind), Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Muttiah Muralidaran (SL), Rahul Dravid (Ind), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Mohammed Yousuf (Pak), Herschelle Gibbs (SA), Brett Lee (Aus), Shahid Afridi (Pak), Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pak), Adam Gilchrist (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL).

Emerging Player of the Year: Monty Panesar (Eng), Alastair Cook (Eng), Denesh Ramdin (WI), Malinga Bandara (SL), Mohammed Asif (Pak), Upul Tharanga (SL), Ian Bell (Eng), Shahriar Nafees (BD).

Cricketer of the Year: Ricky Ponting (Aus), Shane Warne (Aus), Muttiah Muralidaran (SL), Michael Hussey (Aus) Andrew Flintoff (Eng), Mohammed Yousuf (Pak), Rahul Dravid (Ind), Mahela Jayawardene (SL) Younis Khan (Pak), Monty Panesar (Eng), Brett Lee (Aus), Makhaya Ntini (SA), Adam Gilchrist (Aus).

Captain of the Year: Michael Vaughan (Eng), Rahul Dravid (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Mahela Jayawardene (SL).

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel(Aus), Aleem Dar (Pak), Rudi Koertzen(SAf).

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Karen Rolton (Aus), Cathryn Fitzpatrick (Aus), Anjum Chopra (Ind), Neetu David (Ind), Claire Taylor (Eng), Katherine Brunt (Eng), Emily Drumm (NZ).

Write Comments