Australia win toss and elect to bat first

Published: Saturday, September 16, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kuala Lumpur: Ricky Ponting won his second successive toss and chose to bat in the third match of the DLF Cup at the Kinrara Oval in Kuala Lumpur.

Australia are sitting pretty with a win under their belt already, but India have some catching up to do - they were thwarted by rain and by some superb batting by West Indies in the first match, and need a win to ensure that things don't get desperate for them in the second leg of the round-robin matches.

Ponting had mentioned earlier that Australia would use this tournament to experiment, and they stuck to that strategy, making three changes from the side which beat West Indies on Tuesday - Damien Martyn came in for Simon Katich, pushing Shane Watson up the order to open with Phil Jaques, while Stuart Clark and Brad Hogg replaced Nathan Bracken and Dan Cullen.

The Indians, meanwhile, made just one change.Yuvraj Singh, who has recovered from his illness, replaced Mohammad Kaif, ensuring that Suresh Raina, who batted so impressively against West Indies on Thursday, got another chance.

The pitch for this match is the same one, which was used for Australia's match against West Indies on Tuesday. However, there appeared to be lesser moisture on this track, suggesting that the batsmen might have an even better time. The weather, though, could play spoilsport again - the forecast was for light showers later in the day. If that happens, the Duckworth-Lewis sheet could come into play again.


Phil Jaques, Shane Watson, Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke, Damien Martyn, Mark Cosgrove, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Brad Hogg, Stuart Clark, Glenn McGrath.


Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid (capt), Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh, Munaf Patel.

Write Comments