Top six teams to assemble in Delhi on Oct 8

Published: Thursday, September 21, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: The top six teams, who have gained a straight entry into next month's ICC Champions Trophy without having to play the qualifiers, including hosts India, would assemble in Delhi on October 8.

''All the six straight entrants have been asked to assemble in Delhi on October 8 for briefings from the match referee, security matters and all others connected with the championship,'' tournament director Ratnakar Shetty said here today.

India, Australia, South Africa, England, New Zealand and Pakistan are the six teams who do not have to go through the qualifying stage involving last edition winners the West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

The qualifying rounds are to be held from October 7-14 and will be followed by the tournament proper, for which two teams would advance from the earlier stage, from October 15-November 5.

Write Comments