It all started when Sachin Tendulkar survived a ferocious appeal in the second over.
Sachin tried to pull a rising McGrath delivery but couldn't connect with bat at all.
Australia appealed for caught behind and umpire Benson gave him out as well. Ponting appeared to have some chat and altercation with the umpire on this decision.
But later when Ponting and the field umpires were queried the story turned out to be quite opposite.
As things unfolded, Mark Benson first gave Sachin out but later seeing the replay on giant digital screen at ground Benson realised his mistake and came up to umpire Asad Rauf to take his suggestion.
''Anything can happen in cricket, umpire may take wrong decision but can correct it well in time. Bensen came up to me and said that Asad I think I made a mistake, I am going to recall him. I said yes you can do that and he did,'' said umpire Asad Rauf, who was the other field umpire in the match, about what actually happened in the middle.
The umpire retracted his decision and TV replays also showed that the ball had brushed Sachin's forearm. Umpire was correct as he referred to law 27.9 of ICC Laws that says an umpire may alter his decision if that is made promptly.
Benson called Ponting and explained him the decision too.
''Ricky Ponting came up to the umpire and said that he made a good decision and it is a good example,'' Rauf revealed.
Ponting also said that he complimented the umpire on a decision well taken.
''I didn't go to the umpire at that stage, he only called me. I was not very happy at first,'' Ponting said. But soon enough Ponting knew umpire was right and congratulated him.