Defending champions Minerva makes it to last 4

Published: Tuesday, September 26, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chandigarh: Defending champions Minerva Cricket Academy, Punjab Cricket Club, Indian Oil and Oil and Natural Gas Corporation took their appointed place in the semi-finals of the Prize Money 13th All India J P Atray Cricket Tournament here today.

Indian Oil defeated Air India by 34 runs and ONGC defeated Mumbai Cricket Association by 30 runs in the quarter-final matches.

Minerva Cricket Academy scored a facile five-wicket win over PCA Colts and PCC ousted Rajasthan Cricket Association by 62 runs in the other two quarters.

At DAV, Sector 10, Chandigarh Indian Oil clipped the wings of Air India by 34 runs. Indian Oil skipper Test star Wasim Zafar won the toss and elected to bat.

They were in early shocks when they were reduced to 16 for 2 in 4.5 overs. Wasim Zafar who opened the innings made s strokeful 58 of with the help of 8 fours and he was involved in a 71- run stand for the second wicket with Rohit Sharma (32, 2x4s, 2x6s). Mandar Phadke played a patience knock of 68 of 95 balls and hit two fours.

The Indian Oil innings ended at 221 for 8 in 50 overs.

Indian Oil started disastrously by losing their first wicket without any score on the board. Then a 60- run partnership between Dheeraj Jadhav (69, 5x4s) and Sushant (19) revived Air India's hopes.

Thereafter the wickets kept on falling in at regular intervals and their main batsman H Kanitkar (18) Naman Ojha (25) and Neeraj Patel (19) could not capitalised on their starts.

Air India finally folded up for 187 in 47.2 overs. Sidharth Trivedi (3 for 41), and Mandar Dalvi (2 for 31) were the main wicket takers for Air India.

Rohit Sharma f won the man of the match award.

At DAV School Sector-8, ONGC beat Mumbai Cricket Association by 30 runs. Winning the toss and electing to bat, ONGC openers Gautam Gambhir (27) and Sandeep Sharma (52, 8x4s, 1x6) were involved in a opening stand of 78 runs before Gautam Gambhir was trapped in front of the wicket by Abhishek Nair. Gagan Khoda (36) and Amit Sharma (25), were the other notable contributors for ONGC. Right arm medium pacer Avishkar Salvi (3 for 61), Abhisk Nair (2 for 30) and left arm spinner Nilesh Kulkarni (2 for 32) were the main bowlers for Mumbai Cricket Association. ONGC innings folded at 201 for 9 in 50 overs.

Mumbai Cricket Association was bundled out for 171 in 48 overs.

Bhavin Thakar (40, 4x4s) and Praful Waghela (22) were involved in an opening stand of 72 runs and both the wickets fell at the identical score of 72.

Nishit Shetty (25) and Iqbal Abdullah (22) were the two other contributors for Mumbai Cricket Association. Left arm spinner Rahul Sanghvi (4 for 38) and off spinner Sohail Sharma (2 for 39) were the pick of ONGC bowlers.Rahul Sanghvi was adjudged the man of the match.

Minerva Cricket Academy scored a facile five- wicket win over PCA Colts at teh Sector 3 Panchkula Ground. PCA Colts made 148 runs in 50 overs. Ankur Kakkar (40) and Amit Uniyal (26) were the notable contributors for their team.

Rahat Elahi (3 for 24) and T P Singh (2 for 34) were the most successful bowler of Minerva Cricket Academy. In reply Minerva CA achieved the target of 150 runs in 44.1 overs. T P Singh (31), Sumit Sharma (32) Maninder Bisla (32) were the main contributors for Minerva Cricket Academy.

T P Singh was declared man of the match.

At St Johns, Sector 26 PCC beat Rajasthan Cricket Associationby 62 runs and set up a clash against Indian Oil Corporation Mumbai.

Rajasthan Cricket Academy won the toss and elected to field. They met with early success when Punjab openers Ravneet Ricky (1), Ravi Inder (6) were back in the pavilion at a total of 23.

Then skipper Reetinder Sodhi (53, 7x4s), Ishan Malhotra (26) and Bipul Sharma (44, 3x4s, 3x6s) saw their team reach 237 for 8 in 50 overs. Off spinner Shamsher Singh (3 for 35) was the most successful bowler for Rajasthan Cricket Academy.

In reply Rajasthan were bowled out for 175 in 44.2 overs.

Dishant Yagnik (55) and Nikhil Doru (27) were the main scorersfor Rajasthan. Test player VRV Singh (4 for 35), Gagandeep Singh (2 for 32) and Reetiner Sodhi (2 for 36) were the pick of PCC bowlers.

Reetinder Sodhi received the man of the match award from Vishwajeet Khanna, Chairman Organising Committee.

Brief scores: Indian Oil Corporation: 221 for 8 in 50 overs (Mandar Phadke 68 , Wasim Zafar 58, Rohit Sharma 32 , Rajesh Powar 15 not out, S. Trivedi 3 for 41, Mandhar Dalvi 2 for 31). beat Air India: 187 all out in 47.2 overs (D. Jadhav 69, Naman Ojha 25, Neeraj Patel 19, Rohit Sharma 3 for 35 Rajesh Powar 2 for 34, Abbas Ali 2 for 30).

ONGC: 201 for 9 in 50 overs (Sandeep Sharma 52, Gagan Khoda 36 , Gautam Gambhir 27, Amit Sharma 25, Avishkar Salvi 3 for 61, Nilesh Kulkarni 2 for 32, Abhivshk Nair 2 for 30) beat Mumbai Cricket Associaiton: 171 all out in 48 overs (Bhavin Thakkar 40, Nishit Shetty 25, Praful Waghela 22, Iqbal Abdhulla 22, Rahul Sanghvi 4 for 38, Sohail Sharma 2 for 39).

PCA Colts: 148 for 8 in 50 overs (Ankur Kakkar 40, Amit Unial 26, Rahat Elahi 3 for 24, TP Singh 2 for 34) lost to Minerva Cricket Academy: 150 for 5 in 44.1 overs (Sumit Sharma 32, TP Singh 31, Manvinder Bisla 32, Amit Uniyal 1 for 27).

PCC: 237 for 8 in 50 overs (Reetinder Singh Sodhi 53, Bipul Sharma 44 not out, Ishan Malhotra 26, Gaurav Gupta 25, Gagandeep Singh 20, Shamsher 3 for 35) beat Rajasthan Cricket Association: 175 all out in 44.2 overs (Dishant Yagnik 55, Nikhil Doru 27, Afroze Khan 17, VRV Singh 4 for 35, Gagandeep Singh 2 for 32, Reetinder Sodhi 2 for 36).

Write Comments