Khoda, Sandeep steer ONGC into JP Atray final

Published: Wednesday, September 27, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chandigarh: A brilliant 109-run association for the second wicket between Sandeep Sharma (53) and Gagan Khoda (65) helped star-packed Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) upset holders Minerva Cricket Academy by 51 runs in the semifinal of the 13th All India J P Atray Cricket Tournament at Panchkula near here.

ONGC scored 241 for 8 in 50 overs while Minerva Academy were were dismissed for 190 in 43.2 overs.

ONGC's opponents in the final will be star-sprinkled Punjab at the Sector 3 Stadium in Panchkula on September 28. Punjab Cricket Club raced to a comfortable seven-wicket victory over Indian Oil.

The highlight of the match was a fine 99-run partnership for the second wicket between Ravi Inder Singh (66, 8x4s) and Gourav Gupta (26, 3x4s).

Chasing a victory target of 142 runs set by Indian Oil, Punjab Cricket Club achieved their target by scoring 147 for 3 in 32.4 overs.

Electing to bat after winning the toss at Sector 8 DAV School ground Indian Oil skipper Wasim Jaffar opted to bat and added 44 runs for the first wicket before he was snapped by wicketkeeper Sarabjit Singh while chasing an out swinging delivery from VRV Singh for 26. His knock contained four fours and one six.

Next man in Abbas Ali (49) was the only other notable contributor from Indian Oil Corporation Mumbai.

Off spinner Rajesh Sharma in a vicious spell accounted for Mithun Beerala (8), Amit Dani (3), Pinal Shah (0) and Abass Ali (49). Three of his victims were clean bowled failing to read his 'Doosra'. Rajesh Sharma finally returned the flattering figures of 10-4-18-4.IOC innings folded at 141 in 40.1 overs.

Chasing the victory target of 142 runs, PCC lost their opener Ravneet Ricky early in the innings when he was clean bowled by Anand Rajan for 18. Then a 99- run second wicket stand between Ravi Inder Singh (66) and Gaurav Gupta (26) made the task easier for PCC.

Both the batsmen got out on the identical score of 126 and PCC cantered home without any further hiccups and totaling 147 for 3 in 32.4 overs.

Rajesh Sharma of PCC was given the man of the match award by Mr.G.P.S. Sahi chairman Punjab Financial Corporation.

At the Sector 3 Stadium Panchkula, holders Minerva Cricket Academy were dethroned by ONGC Delhi. Minerva won the toss and elected to field. They were however frustrated by ONGC second wicket pair of Sandeep Sharma and Gagan Khoda who had a partnership of 109 runs.

Later in the innings Sumit Narwal made a blazing unbeaten 45 of just 28 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes.

In the process he hit right arm leg spinner Rahat Elahi for 26 runs in the last over of the innings and took the total to a respectable 241 for 8 in 50 overs. Abid Nabi (3 for 27) and TP Singh (4 for 40) were the most successful bowlers for Minerva Cricket Academy.

Replying Minerva started with Munish Sharma (23) and Sumit Sharma (19) added 43 runs for the first wicket before both the openers fell to the bowling of Sumit Narwal (3 for 30). TP Singh (52) and Manvinder Bisla (27) were involved in a fourth wicket stand of 53 runs. Thereafter, Minerva Cricket Academy lost wickets at regular intervals and finally their challenge ended at 190 for all in 43.2 overs.

Sumit Narwal (3 for 30), Rahul Sanghvi (3 for 37) and Sohail Sharma (2 for 3) were the main wicket takers for ONGC. Sumit Narwal of ONGC was adjudged man of the match.

Brief scores:

Indian Oil Corporation Mumbai: 141 in 40.1 overs (Wasim Jaffar 26, Abbas Ali 29, Rajesh Sharma 4 for 18).

Punjab Cricket Club: 147 for 3 in 32.4 overs (Ravi Inder Sigh 66, Garuav Gutpa 26, Ravneet Rickey 18, Anand Rajan 1 for 26).

ONGC: 241 for 8 in 50 overs (Sandeep Sharma 53, Gagan Khoda 65, Sumit Narwal 45 not out, TP Singh 4 for 40, Abid Nabi 3 for 27).

Minerva Cricket Academy: 190 for all in 43.2 overs (Munish Sharma 23, TP Singh 52, Manvinder Bisla 27, Sumit Narwal 3 for 30, Rahul Sanghvi 3 for 37, Sohail Sharma 2 for 31).

ONGC won by 51 runs.

Man of the match: Sumit Narwal of ONGC.

Write Comments