Vengsarkar starts new innings as chief selector

Published: Wednesday, September 27, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Kiran More's eventful stint as chief selector came to an end with former captain Dilip Vengsarkar succeeding him, while ex-captain Kapil Dev took over the reins from former teammate Sunil Gavaskar as Chairman of the National Cricket Academy (NCA).

Meanwhile, Team Pawar was formally re-elected today at the 77th Annual General Meeting held here at the Cricket Club of India here today.

Apart from Vengsarkar, former spinner Venkatpathy Raju also made his way to the selection committee from South Zone, joining Bhupendra Singh Jr (North), Ranjib Biswal (East) and Sanjay Jagdale (Central).

World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev also took over from Gavaskar as the new NCA chairman even though the latter will continue as head of the BCCI Technical Committee.

Meanwhile, though More would no more have a say on team selection, he would remain in the Technical Committee as a former Test player.

Vice President Shashank Manohar will chair the Constitution Review Committee, which also include former Board president IS Bindra and treasurer N Srinivasan, Lalit Modi, Arun Jaitley and Niranjan Shah.

IS Bindra will be chairman of the 2011 World Cup Infrastructure Committee.

BCCI also officially announced today that Sharad Pawar was re-elected for another term as the Board President, while Niranjan Shah will continue as the secretary of the board.

Joint Secretary M P Pandove and treasurer N Srinivasan will also continue in their office.

Lalit Modi (North), D Narvekar (South), Rajeev Shukla (East), Chirayu Amin (West) and Shashank Manohar (Central) will remain the vice presidents.

Write Comments