IOC beat Minerva CA for third place playoff

Published: Thursday, September 28, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chandigarh: A century opening wicket partnership between Cheteshwar Pujara (86, 9x4s) and Mithun Beerala (49, 8x4s, 1x6) helped Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) beat defending champions Minerva Cricket Academy of Chandigarh by 99 runs in a playoff match for third place in the Prize Money 13th All India J P Atray Cricket Tournament at the St John's School ground in Sector 26 here.

Invited to bat first, Indian Oil made 265 for four in allotted 50 overs. Minerva were then bundled out for 166 in 37 overs. Rohan Raje (3 for 47), Amit Dani (3 for 30) and Rohit Sharma (2 for 10) shattered Minerva's innings.

Minerva move to field first did not pay off as Indian Oil openers Pujara and Mithun Beerala put on 105 runs for the first wicket before Mithun Beerala was snapped by wicketkeeper Paras Dogra of the bowling of Vikram Malik for 49. Then Goan Ranji captain Mandar Phadke and Pujara put on 95 runs for the third wicket before Phadke was caught by Sonkar in the covers of the bowling of left arm spinner K Dhiman for 48.

Pujara after making 86 was caught and bowled by K. Dhiman. Amit Dani remained unbeaten with 31.

Replying Minerva Cricket Academy folded for 166 in 37 overs in 186 minutes and left Indian Oil victors by 99 runs. Former Punjab opener Munish Sharma was the first to go when he was caught by Beerala of Rohan Raje for a duck. Minerva kept losing wickets at regular intervals after Sumit Dhiman (28) and Sumit Sharma (26)put on 49 runs for the second wicket before both were run out.

Later, Abid Nabi scored a breezy half century (50, 5x4s, 3x6s) which only delayed the inevitable for a while.

Rohan Raje , Amit Dani and Rohit Sharma were the pick among the IO bowlers. C Pujara was adjudged the Man-of-the-Match.

Write Comments