Hair will not officiate at Champions: ICC

Published: Friday, September 29, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

London: Australian umpire Darrell Hair will not officiate at the ICC Champions Trophy in India next month, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said today.

Malcolm Speed, the ICC chief executive, issued a press statement in which he said, "A decision has been made in consultation with the ICC president Percy Sonn, the ICC general manager of cricket David Richardson and myself that he will not umpire at the Champions Trophy amid concerns over his safety and security and also the safety and security of those around him during the tournament."

Hair alleged ball tampering against Pakistan in the fourth and final Test at the Oval against England, which led to its forfeiture, and Pakistan and India later objecting to him umpiring in the prestigious Champions Trophy.

Pakistan's captain Inzamam-ul-Haq was earlier cleared of the ball-tampering charge after a two-day ICC hearing in London. However Inzy was convicted on the second charge - bringing disrepute to game- was handed four-match ban by ICC match referee Ranjan Madugalle.

Write Comments