Maharoof leads Lanka to a respectable 267/8

Published: Thursday, October 5, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chandigarh: Farveez Maharoof struck an unbeaten 81-run knock as Sri Lanka raced to 267 for eight in 50 overs against Punjab Cricket Association President's XI (PCAP XI) in a practice match at the Sector 16 Cricket Stadium here today.

Sri Lanka scored 37 runs in the last three thrilling overs and lost two wickets in the process. Maharoof's hurricane batting in the last two overs yielded 30 runs, which included three sixes and two fours.

At the end of the 47th over, Sri Lanka were 230 for six.

Maharoof was in total command in the last two overs. In the 49th over the elegant Sri Lankan all-rounder hit Amit Uniyal for 16 runs, which included two successive sixes. The last over was bowled by Bipul Sharma, who conceded 15 runs.

Maharoof and Chaminda Vaas (48) contributed valuable 90 runs for the seventh wicket before Vaas was stumped by Sarabjit Singh off the bowling of Bipul Sharma.

Earlier, batting first Sri Lanka opened their innings through Upul Tharanga (21) and Sanath Jayasuriya. With scoreboard reading just 14, Jayasuriya was bowled by PCAP XI new ball bowler Gagandeep Singh, who returned figures of two for 23. Tharanga also returned to the pavilion at an individual score of 21 with the side's total at 50 after 11.5 overs.

With wickets falling at regular intervals, Sri Lanka were 144 for six. However, the 90-run partnership between Maharoof and Vaas revived the Lankan innings and helped them reach a fighting total against the PCAP XI.


Upul Tharanga b Rajesh Sharma 21, Sanath Jayasuriya b Gagandeep Singh 10, Mahela Jayawardene lbw b Gagandeep Singh 9, Kumar Sangakara c Ravneet b Ishan Malhatra 23, Marvan Atapattu 15 run out, Tilakratne Dilshan lbw b Rajesh Sharma 25, Farveez Maharoof 81 not out, Chaminda Vaas st Sarabjit b Bipul Sharma 48, Lasith Malinga 1 run out, Muttiah Muralitharan 0 not out.

Extras (LB-13, W-17, NB-4) 34; Total (for eight wickets) 267
Fall of wickets: 1/14 2/50 3/55 4/87 5/112 6/144 7/234 8/257
Bowling: Gagandeep Singh 10-0-23-2, Amit Uniyal 10-0-65-0, Rajesh Sharma 10-0-64-2, I Malhatra 10-0-50-0, Bipul Sharma 10-0-52-2.

Write Comments